SAP Build as a booster for digitization

SAP Build is currently a hot topic in the SAP community. The low-code toolkit on the SAP Business Technology Platform (SAP BTP), consisting of SAP Build Apps, SAP Build Work Zone and SAP Process Automation, is designed to make it possible for non-developers to implement digitization projects. Our SAP BTP expert Christian Heinrich has already described in detail what lies behind SAP Build in a blog post. In this second SAP Build blog post, he now explores the question of why and how SAP customers should engage with the SAP low-code tool.

What does the “long tail approach” mean for software projects?

In the last blog post on SAP Build, we described how low code can help to address development backlogs even with non-developers and thus drive digitization in companies. Another way to show the need for low-code tools such as SAP Build is the “long tail” approach known from business administration. In terms of digital products, the approach states that companies with virtual products can also make their sales with many niche products instead of just the most popular products (as assumed in ABC analysis). Reason for this are with virtual goods missing capital commitment, missing storage costs, etc.. The expenditure these to offer is thus small.

So much for the theory. If we now look at the software projects in the company with this in mind, we see that there are some very popular apps that are currently the focus of IT departments. These are primarily the solutions with a high number of users and often also with a high level of complexity. These can be standard applications such as S/4HANA or SAP SuccessFactors, or large and popular individual extensions on the SAP Business Technology Platform. But does the need for IT solutions stop with these A-products? Rather no, because in all companies there are still very many smaller, more insignificant processes that are not or only partially lived digitally: Paper processes, email- or excel-based processes, etc. Until now, however, this “long tail” of niche processes was not the focus of attention, as the cost-benefit ratio was not right for the small number of users. This is now changing with the value proposition of low-code tools like SAP Build.

Graphic analogous to a presentation by Forrester 2011

Low code becomes an integral part of solution architectures

Low-code tools help to implement small and less complex solutions quickly and cost-effectively. As a result, it can suddenly make sense to digitize even those processes that support only a handful of employees, customers or partners. And these are precisely the use cases thanks to which low-code tools will establish themselves as an integral part of the solution and innovation landscape of companies. Because it is simply highly exciting for IT organizations to tackle digitization projects with such modern tools as well, in order to implement more projects in total. Particularly in the context of SAP systems, where you often have to rely on highly specialized experts for innovations and enhancements, low-code tools like SAP Build also open up the way to suitable SAP applications for completely different target groups.

A big plus of SAP Build: The proximity to the systems. If set up correctly, SAP Build can be used to access the underlying systems such as SAP S/4HANA or SAP SuccessFactors or even on-premise systems in a simple and secure manner.
Christian Heinrich
Member of the Executive Board, sovanta AG

IT and business departments as hybrid teams

This means that low-code approaches offer a good introduction to the SAP world, especially for IT specialists who are not familiar with SAP. In my experience, a good basic technical education is definitely helpful in mastering the tools quickly and well. It remains to be seen to what extent the citizen developers in the specialist departments will become part of the Low Code target group. But I am sure that in the short term, thanks to low-code tools, we will see much better and more intensive coordination and collaboration between IT and the business departments. What will this look like? SAP Build makes it much easier to implement executable prototypes than in the past. This means that prototypes created by IT specialists can be easily reviewed by the business units and potentially adapted directly.

A rethink of IT is required

Many IT departments and development professionals are still skeptical about the topic of low code. They fear too much uncontrolled growth and landscapes that are almost impossible to control. They also question the scope of functions and flexibility. However, I expect a change in thinking and more openness here. IT professionals should also get involved with low code in order to better assess the possibilities and limits. I am sure even pro-developers can become faster in many places through low code. It will also be important to bring the necessary professionalism to low-code projects via IT. Instances must be set up and prepared properly, roles must be set up and systems must be connected so that less IT-savvy teams can get started right away and benefit from the tools. Clear governance by IT is required here.

How do I get started with SAP Build?

As with so many areas in the cloud, the credo here is: “Just do it”. And hardly any other topic lends itself to this approach as well as low code. All you need is a good use case, the tooling, a few experts and the end users. In just a few days, a digital solution can be created that has perhaps been longed for a long time. Such success stories are convincing within a company. And along the way, the first structures are built and the path toward governance is paved. 

Feel free to contact me if you need support here. We are happy to bring our many years of experience from SAP Fiori Makers Bootcamps, SAC Bootcamps or even Workflow Starter projects.

Christian Heinrich: Marketing & Solutions
Christian Heinrich
Executive Board Member

Your Contact

Christian Heinrich is a member of the Executive Board of sovanta AG and is responsible for Marketing & Solutions, Experience Management and the Design Lab. He combines a deep understanding of customer needs with expert knowledge in the latest technologies in the SAP market to bring both together for innovative solutions.
Tags
SAP BTP Simplify IT SAP Business Technology Platform Software Development

SAP Build als Digitalisierungs-Booster

SAP Build ist gerade ein Trendthema in der SAP Community. Das Low-Code-Toolkit auf der SAP Business Technology Platform (SAP BTP) bestehend aus SAP Build Apps, SAP Build Work Zone und SAP Process Automation soll es auch Non-Developern möglich machen, Digitalisierungsprojekte umzusetzen. Unser SAP BTP-Experte Christian Heinrich hat in einem Blogpost bereits ausführlich beschrieben, was hinter SAP Build steckt. In diesem zweiten SAP Build-Blogpost geht er nun der Frage nach, warum und wie SAP-Kunden sich mit dem SAP Low-Code-Tool beschäftigen sollten.

Was bedeutet der „Long Tail-Ansatz“ für Softwareprojekte?

Im letzten Blogpost zu SAP Build haben wir beschrieben, wie Low Code dabei helfen kann, Entwicklungsbacklog auch mit Nicht-Entwicklern anzugehen und somit die Digitalisierung in Unternehmen voranzutreiben. Ein anderer Weg, den Bedarf für Low-Code-Tools wie SAP Build aufzuzeigen, ist der aus der Betriebswirtschaftslehre bekannte „Long Tail“-Ansatz. Auf digitale Produkte bezogen besagt der Ansatz, dass Unternehmen mit virtuellen Produkten ihren Umsatz auch mit vielen Nischenprodukten machen können, statt nur mit den populärsten Produkten (wie bei der ABC-Analyse angenommen). Grund hierfür sind die bei virtuellen Gütern fehlende Kapitalbindung, fehlenden Lagerkosten, etc. Der Aufwand diese anzubieten ist somit gering.

So viel zur Theorie. Betrachtet man mit dieser im Hinterkopf nun die Softwareprojekte im Unternehmen, dann zeigt sich: Es gibt einige sehr populäre Apps, die aktuell im Fokus der IT-Abteilungen stehen. Dies sind vor allem die Lösungen mit einer hohen Nutzeranzahl und häufig auch mit einer hohen Komplexität. Das können Standardanwendung wie S/4HANA oder SAP SuccessFactors sein oder aber auch große und populäre individuelle Erweiterungen auf der SAP Business Technology Platform. Aber hört der Bedarf an IT-Lösungen bei diesen A-Produkten auf? Eher nein, denn in allen Unternehmen gibt es noch sehr viele kleinere, unbedeutendere Prozesse, die nicht oder nur teilweise digital gelebt werden: Papierprozesse, email- oder excel-basierte Prozesse, etc. Bisher stand dieser „Long Tail“ an Nischenprozessen jedoch nicht im Fokus, da das Verhältnis von Aufwand zu Nutzen für die kleine Anzahl an Nutzern nicht stimmte. Das ändert sich nun mit dem Nutzungsversprechen von Low-Code-Tools wie SAP Build.

Grafik analog zu einer Darstellung von Forrester 2011

Low Code wird fester Bestandteil der Lösungsarchitekturen

Low-Code-Tools helfen kleine und wenig komplexe Lösungen schnell und kostengünstig umzusetzen. Dadurch kann es plötzlich Sinn machen, auch solche Prozesse zu digitalisieren, die nur eine Handvoll von Mitarbeitenden, Kunden oder Partnern unterstützen. Und genau das sind die Use Cases, dank derer sich Low-Code-Tools als fester Bestandteil der Lösungs- und Innovationslandschaft von Unternehmen etablieren werden. Denn es ist einfach hochspannend für IT-Organisationen, Digitalisierungsprojekte auch mit solchen modernen Werkzeugen anzugehen, um in Summe mehr Projekte umzusetzen. Gerade im Kontext von SAP-Systemen, in dem man häufig für Innovationen und Erweiterungen auf hochspezialisierte Experten angewiesen ist, eröffnen Low-Code-Tools wie SAP Build auch ganz anderen Zielgruppen den Weg zu passenden SAP-Anwendungen.

Ein großer Pluspunkt von SAP Build: Die Nähe zu den Systemen. Richtig aufgesetzt kann über SAP Build auf einfache und sichere Weise auf die dahinter liegenden Systeme wie SAP S/4Hana oder SAP SuccessFactors oder aber auch OnPremise-Systeme zugegriffen werden.
Christian Heinrich
Vorstandsmitglied, sovanta AG

IT und Fachbereiche als hybride Teams

Damit bieten Low-Code-Ansätze gerade für SAP-fernere IT-Spezialisten einen guten Einstieg in die SAP-Welt. Denn aktuell hilft meiner Erfahrung nach durchaus eine gute technische Grundausbildung dabei, die Tools schnell und gut zu beherrschen. Inwiefern also gleich die Citizen Developer in den Fachbereichen zur Zielgruppe von Low Code dazugehören werden, bleibt abzuwarten. Ich bin mir aber sicher, dass wir kurzfristig dank Low-Code-Tools eine deutlich bessere und intensivere Abstimmung und Zusammenarbeit zwischen der IT und den Fachbereichen beobachten werden. Wie kann das aussehen? Durch SAP Build werden lauffähige Prototypen sehr viel einfacher umgesetzt als in der Vergangenheit. So können von IT-Spezialisten erstellte Prototypen durch die Fachbereiche einfach reviewed und potentiell direkt angepasst werden.

Ein Umdenken der IT ist gefragt

Viele IT-Abteilungen und Entwicklungsprofis stehen dem Thema Low Code aktuell noch skeptisch gegenüber. Sie befürchten zu viel Wildwuchs und kaum mehr zu kontrollierende Landschaften. Außerdem werden Funktionsumfang und Flexibilität hinterfragt. Hier erwarte ich jedoch ein Umdenken und mehr Offenheit. Auch IT-Profis sollten sich mit Low Code beschäftigen, um Möglichkeiten und Grenzen besser einschätzen zu können. Ich bin sicher, auch Pro-Developer können an vielen Stellen durch Low Code schneller werden. Zudem wird es wichtig sein, die notwendige Professionalität über die IT in die Low-Code-Projekte zu bringen. Instanzen müssen richtig aufgesetzt und vorbereitet sein, Rollen eingerichtet und Systeme angebunden werden, sodass weniger IT-affine Teams direkt loslegen und von den Tools profitieren können. Hier bedarf es einer klaren Governance durch die IT.

Wie starte ich mit SAP Build?

Wie bei so vielen Bereichen in der Cloud ist hier das Credo: „Einfach mal machen“. Und kaum ein Thema bietet sich so für diese Herangehensweise an wie Low Code. Alles was man benötigt, ist ein guter Use Case, das Tooling, ein paar Experten sowie die Endanwender. Schon entsteht in wenigen Tagen eine vielleicht sogar schon lang ersehnte digitale Lösung. Solche Erfolgsbeispiele überzeugen innerhalb eines Unternehmens. Und ganz nebenbei baut man so schon die ersten Strukturen auf und der Weg in Richtung Governance wird geebnet.

Sprechen Sie mich gerne an, wenn Sie hier Unterstützung benötigen. Wir bringen gerne unsere langjährige Erfahrung aus SAP Fiori Makers Bootcamps, SAC Bootcamps oder auch Workflow-Starter-Projekten mit.

Christian Heinrich: Marketing & Solutions
Christian Heinrich
Chief Solutions Officer, Vorstandsmitglied

Ihr Kontakt

Christian Heinrich ist Mitglied des Vorstands der sovanta AG und verantwortet die Bereiche Marketing & Solutions, Experience Management und das Design Lab. Er verbindet ein tiefes Verständnis für Kundenbedürfnisse mit Expertenwissen in den neusten Technologien auf dem SAP-Markt, um beides für innovative Lösungen zusammenzubringen.
Tags
Extensions IT verein­fachen SAP Business Technology Platform Software Development