SAP Datasphere – A one-stop-shop for Data

SAP BTP is constantly growing with new services, tools and releases. Last month, the big announcement around the new product “SAP Datasphere” was an important topic. Whenever there is something new around the topic of “data” from SAP, it calls Dr. Tommi Kramer, Head of Data Science at sovanta, to the scene. Here he shares his insights:

SAP Datasphere simplifies access to data

With SAP Datasphere, the two products Data Warehouse Cloud and Data Intelligence will be brought together under one roof in the future. This has the advantage that access to data on the SAP BTP will be enormously simplified, not only within the SAP ecosystem but also to external data sources. In future, SAP Datasphere will be the hub for accessing and processing data on the SAP BTP – be it for combining raw and business data with processes on the one hand or for integrating customised AI models on the other.

For me, SAP Datasphere plays an important role in data governance on the SAP BTP.
Dr. Tommi Kramer
Head of Data Science, sovanta AG

It is all about data

In my opinion, the success of the SAP BTP as an innovation platform is based on the workflows. Only those who start thinking early about which data is stored where and in which data models, how it can be accessed, which transformations are to be carried out and who can access it with which authorisations have created a reliable and scalable foundation on which all SAP BTP users can build.

Limits and opportunities

Certainly, there are currently still good reasons to continue working with existing solutions such as Data Intelligence. For example, SAP Datasphere does not yet support data integration in JSON format, which would be an important function for processing raw data in the form of individual files. Nevertheless, the functional scope of SAP Datasphere will be rapidly expanded in the coming months, so that even such deficits can be neglected in the near future. The direct use of data from SAP Datasphere in SAP Analytics Cloud, on the other hand, offers numerous visualisation options that can be generated quickly.

Do you have questions about SAP Datasphere? Feel free to contact us, we look forward to the exchange.

Tommi Kramer: Data Science
Dr. Tommi Kramer
Head of AI & Data

Your Contact

Dr. Tommi Kramer is responsible for Data Science at sovanta AG. Together with his team, he works on innovative approaches around machine learning and thus develops intelligent models for the optimization of business processes.
Tags
AI & Data Simplify IT SAP Business Technology Platform Artificial Intelligence

SAP Datasphere – Ein One-Stop-Shop für Daten

Die SAP BTP wächst ständig mit neuen Diensten, Tools und Releases. Letzten Monat war die große Ankündigung rund um das neue Produkt „SAP Datasphere“ ein wichtiges Thema. Immer dann, wenn es etwas Neues rund um das Thema „Daten“ von SAP gibt ruft das Dr. Tommi Kramer, Head of Data Science bei sovanta, auf den Plan. Hier teilt er seine Einblicke:

SAP Datasphere vereinfacht den Zugriff auf Daten

Mit SAP Datasphere werden die beiden Produkte Data Warehouse Cloud und Data Intelligence zukünftig unter einem Dach zusammengeführt. Das hat den Vorteil, dass auf der SAP BTP der Zugriff auf Daten nicht nur innerhalb des SAP-Ökosystems sondern auch auf externe Datenquellen enorm vereinfacht wird. SAP Datasphere wird zukünftig der Dreh- und Angelpunkt für den Zugriff und die Verarbeitung von Daten auf der SAP BTP sein – sei es einerseits für die Kombination von Roh- und Geschäftsdaten mit Prozessen oder andererseits für die Integration maßgeschneiderter KI-Modelle.

Für mich nimmt SAP Datasphere eine wichtige Rolle bei der Data Governance auf der SAP BTP ein.
Dr. Tommi Kramer
Head of Data Science, sovanta AG

Es dreht sich alles um Daten

Eine zentrale Anlaufstelle für Daten, sei es für die Nutzung in Extensions, bei SAP Build Apps oder in Workflows, macht in meinen Augen den Erfolg der SAP BTP als Innovationsplattform aus. Nur wer sich frühzeitig Gedanken darüber macht, welche Daten wo und in welchen Datenmodellen abgelegt werden, wie darauf zugegriffen werden kann, welche Transformationen durchgeführt werden sollen bzw. wer mit welchen Berechtigungen darauf zugreifen kann, hat damit eine zuverlässige und skalierbare Grundlage geschaffen, auf der alle SAP BTP User aufbauen können.

Grenzen und Möglichkeiten

Sicherlich gibt es aktuell noch gute Gründe, mit bestehenden Lösungen wie Data Intelligence weiterzuarbeiten. So unterstützt SAP Datasphere derzeit noch keine Datenintegration im JSON-Format, was für die Verarbeitung von Rohdaten in Form von einzelnen Dateien eine wichtige Funktion wäre. Dennoch wird der Funktionsumfang von SAP Datasphere in den nächsten Monaten rapide erweitert werden, so dass auch solche Defizite zeitnah vernachlässigt werden können. Die direkte Verwendung der Daten aus SAP Datasphere in SAP Analytics Cloud bieten hingegen zahlreiche Visualisierungsmöglichkeiten, die sich schnell erzeugen lassen.

Sie haben Fragen rund um SAP Datasphere? Melden Sie sich gerne, wir freuen uns auf den Austausch.

Tommi Kramer: Data Science
Dr. Tommi Kramer
Chief AI Officer

Ihr Kontakt

Dr. Tommi Kramer ist bei der sovanta AG verantwortlich für den Bereich Data Science. Zusammen mit seinem Team beschäftigt er sich mit innovativen Ansätzen rund um maschinelles Lernen und entwickelt so intelligente Modelle zur Optimierung von Geschäftsprozessen.
Tags
AI / GenAI IT verein­fachen SAP Business Technology Platform Artificial Intelligence