Dr. Georg Konrad

Chairman of the sovanta AG Supervisor Board

Georg Konrad has been an entrepreneur for almost 30 years. He was the founder and main shareholder of Novasoft GmbH, later Novasoft AG. From 1989 to 2006 he was a member of the executive board. Since 2006 he has been the managing director of GEKON Beteiligungen GmbH.

He was born on August 21 1956 in Duisburg. After completing his mechanical engineering studies at RWTH Aachen University and taking a doctoral degree as a graduate engineer, he became a member of the research institute for rationalization Aachen in the field of company organization, where he had first contact with production planning and control systems.

After graduating in 1989, he became a developer and consultant at SAP AG. At the time, SAP only had about 100 employees and therefore offered the opportunity to gain experience in all important areas of software development and customer consulting. After spending three years at SAP AG, he used his experience to found his own company in SAP application consulting.

The newly founded Novasoft GmbH (later Novasoft AG) specialized in worldwide consulting of major customers with regard to the implementation of SAP systems. Novasoft AG became a listed company in 1999 and was sold to Ciber Inc, USA in 2003, when it counted with approximately 600 employees. Georg Konrad was the founder, main shareholder and CEO of Novasoft AG.

After the acquisition by Ciber Inc., he continued to be the CEO of the new Ciber-Novasoft AG, until he left in 2006 to found GEKON Beteiligungen GmbH.

As a shareholder and managing director of GEKON Beteiligungen GmbH, Georg Konrad supports various companies in their development by providing capital and know-how.

In addition to the mentioned entrepreneurial activities, he is involved in several social projects. The Georg Konrad Foundation supports projects concerning children and youth, with education and integration as a main focus. The projects are taking place in Heidelberg and South Africa. Around Heidelberg, these projects consist in various schools and a facility for disabled people. In South Africa, Georg Konrad has purchased a farm, which he provides for apprenticeship projects.

He has been founding, building up and managing companies for more than 25 years and has extensive experience in all related fields.

In addition to his profession, his passion is the country of South Africa, to which he has been closely connected for many years, as well as golfing and playing the electric guitar.

Cookie information and services of third parties

For an optimal performance, a smooth use of social media and for advertising purposes, sovanta AG recommends to agree to the use of cookies. Cookies from social meda and third-party advertising cookies give you access to social media features and personalized advertising.


We also share information about your use of our website with our partners for analytic purposes. Our affiliates may aggregate this information with other information that you have provided to them or that you have collected using the services.


Agree and continue

Mittermaierstraße 31, 69115 Heidelberg
+49 (0)6221 8 933 90
+49 (0)6221 8 933 944

Dr. Georg Konrad

Dr. Georg Konrad

Georg Konrad ist seit fast 30 Jahren Unternehmer. Er war Gründer und Hauptaktionär der Novasoft GmbH, später Novasoft AG, deren Vorstand er von 1989 bis 2006 war. Seit 2006 ist er Geschäftsführer der GEKON Beteiligungen GmbH.

Er wurde am 21.08.1956 in Duisburg geboren. Nach seinem Maschinenbaustudium an der RWTH Aachen und dem Abschluss als Diplom-Ingenieur promovierte er am Forschungsinstitut für Rationalisierung, Aachen, im Bereich Betriebsorganisation und hatte dort erste Berührung mit Produktionsplanungs- und -steuerungssystemen.

Nach Abschluss seiner Promotion im Jahre 1989 wurde er Entwickler und Berater bei der SAP AG. Zum damaligen Zeitpunkt verfügte SAP erst über ca. 100 Mitarbeiter und bot damit die Möglichkeit, in allen wichtigen Bereichen der Softwareentwicklung und Kundenberatung Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Nach gut dreijähriger Tätigkeit bei der SAP AG nutzte er diese Erfahrung, um sein eigenes Unternehmen im Bereich SAP Anwendungsberatung zu gründen.

Die neu gegründete Novasoft GmbH (später Novasoft AG) hatte sich auf die weltweite Beratung von Großkunden im Zusammenhang mit der Einführung von SAP-Systemen spezialisiert. Die Novasoft AG wurde in 1999 ein börsennotiertes Unternehmen und verfügte zum Zeitpunkt des Verkaufs im Jahre 2003 an den späteren Eigentümer Ciber Inc, USA über annähernd 600 Mitarbeiter. Georg Konrad war Gründer, Hauptaktionär und Vorstand der Novasoft AG.

Nach der Übernahme durch die Ciber Inc. war er weiterhin Vorstand der neuen Ciber-Novasoft AG, bis er diese im Jahr 2006 verließ, um die GEKON Beteiligungen GmbH zu gründen.

Als Gesellschafter und Geschäftsführer der GEKON Beteiligungen GmbH unterstützt Georg Konrad diverse Unternehmen bei deren Aufbau durch Kapital und Know How.

Neben den genannten unternehmerischen Aktivitäten engagiert er sich in mehreren sozialen Projekten. Seine Georg-Konrad-Stiftung fördert Projekte im Kinder- und Jugendbereich, wobei Bildung und Integration die Hauptziele dieser Projekte sind. Die Projekte befinden sich im Raum Heidelberg und in Südafrika. Im Raum Heidelberg sind dies vor allem Projekte in diversen Schulen und einer Behinderteneinrichtung. In Südafrika hat Georg Konrad eine Farm erworben, die er für Ausbildungsprojekte zur Verfügung stellt.

Er beschäftig sich seit mehr als 25 Jahren mit der Gründung, dem Aufbau und der Führung von Unternehmen und verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen in allen damit zusammenhängenden Bereichen.

Neben dem Beruf gilt seine Leidenschaft dem Land Südafrika, dem er seit vielen Jahren eng verbunden ist sowie dem Golfen und dem Musizieren auf seiner elektrischen Gitarre.